The A to Z of Baking: B is for Blueberry Swirl Cheesecake

imageAfter the bird related fun of last week’s baking challenge, week two was positively dull in comparison, I’ll be honest! They decided not to bring me any extra ingredients this time around, maybe next week…

I’ve been fancying making a blueberry cheesecake for a while, so it was an obvious choice for the a B of my baking challenge. I only own a few bits of baking equipment, so I expected to have to buy a few new things over the course of the baking challenge. This week, I had to invest in my first new item, a food processor, in order to follow the recipe below because it spoke of blending the blueberries and I wasn’t about to attempt that using my humble hand blender – imagine the state of the kitchen.

The cake turned out well, although I’ll admit that my blueberry swirl looks more like a blueberry has thrown up on the cake! I took the cake with me to my boyfriend’s mum’s when we visited at the weekend and it went down a treat.

The ideas and suggestions are rolling in now for the rest of the alphabet, so I’m excited about the creations that are still to come!

High points

This cheesecake is super easy to make, you essentially just whack all of the ingredients, barring the base, into the food processor and mush it all up, before putting it in the oven to bake.

Low points

Although the blueberry swirl looks interesting on the cake, I would have liked the cake to have a little more of a distinctive blueberry flavour. Still tasty, nonetheless.

TOP TIP: Tastes best when served straight from the fridge. We had some in Friday evening after a two-hour drive in a hot car, but the piece we tried Saturday evening from the fridge was much tastier.

Here’s the recipe I followed:

125g digestive biscuits
50g butter
150g blueberries
150g caster sugar, plus 3 tbsp extra
400g cream cheese
250g mascarpone
2 large eggs, plus 1 large egg yolk
½ tsp vanilla extract
2 tbsp plain flour

1. Preheat the oven to 180°C (350°F/Gas 4). Grease the cake tin. Put the biscuits in a large food bag and crush with a rolling pin. Melt the butter in a pan, then add the biscuit crumbs and stir until well-coated. Press the crumbs into the base of the tin.

2. Put the blueberries and the 3 tablespoons of caster sugar in a food processor and whiz until smooth, then push the mixture through a nylon sieve into a small pan. Bring to the boil, then allow to simmer for 3–5 minutes, or until thickened and jammy. Set aside. Rinse the goblet of the food processor.

3. Put all the remaining ingredients into the food processor and whiz until well combined. Pour the mixture onto the biscuit base and smooth the top. With a teaspoon, carefully drizzle the blueberry mixture over the cream cheese mixture in a swirly pattern. Bake the cheesecake for 40 minutes, or until it has set but still has a slight wobble in the middle when you shake the tin. Leave to cool in the oven for an hour, then cool completely and serve.

My Random Musings

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

8 thoughts on “The A to Z of Baking: B is for Blueberry Swirl Cheesecake

  1. Mother Mands says:

    A food processor is always a good investment, I use mine for everything! Especially good for pastry when you have sweaty hands like me 🙂
    I used to make a blueberry and white chocolate cheesecake, and I know what you mean about the blueberry flavour being too mellow, solution…bilberries, much stronger flavour, they’re just a nightmare to get hold of 😦

    So ‘C’ next, c could mean chocolate, but you could surprise us all with something completely different 😀

    • jenieveve says:

      Bilberries, good tip! But yeah, they must be a nightmare to get hold of… I don’t want to give too much away but ‘C’ is a pretty traditional recipe, a version of which I’ve been wanting to try for a while after a colleague passed on a recipe to me. The rest of the alphabet is shaping up to be fun, and will be pushing me out of my limited baking comfort zone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

