Recipe: Slimming World Chocolate Orange Roulade

IMG_20150330_212659~2Although I no longer attend a Slimming World class or follow the plan to the letter anymore, I’m still a big advocate of the merits of this healthy eating regime and often like to look out for new Slimming World recipes or recipes that I can make Slimming World-friendly. I also have a bank of trusty Slimming World recipes that I keep on going back to and the Chocolate Orange Roulade is one of my old faithfuls.

As much as I love many of the Slimming World savoury recipes, I don’t often think they do sweet treats so well. To be fair, how easy can it be to make a less sinful version of a fat-laden chocolate cake, and how nice would that even taste?!

That said, the Chocolate Orange roulade is light and lovely, and a firm fave of mine. I’m not afraid of a naughty cake but when I’m making a dessert for one of the ‘Come Slim With Me’ nights that friends and I occasionally get together for, or I’m trying to watch the pounds but fancy something sweet, then this is my ‘go to’ recipe.

Even if you’re not following the Slimming World plan, you’re sure to want to sample this! (If you do following Slimming World, it’s three syns per serving – bargain).

Serves 6

Ingredients

  • Frylight
  • 6 eggs, separated
  • 70g caster sugar
  • 2 tablespoons sweetener
  • 2 level tablespoons cocoa powder, sifted, plus 1/2 level teaspoon to dust
  • 2 satsumas, cut into wedges, to decorate

For the filling

  • 175g pot vanilla yoghurt (fat-free)
  • 250g quark
  • Finely grated zest of 1 orange
  • A few drops of vanilla essence
  • 1 teaspoon sweetener
  • 3 oranges, peeled and separated into segments

Method

  • Preheat oven to 180-degrees C/fan 160-degrees C/gas 4. Line a swiss roll tin (I just use a baking tin) with baking paper.
  • Whisk the egg yolks, sugar and sweetener together in a large bowl until pale and thick. Carefully fold in the cocoa powder using a large metal spoon.
  • Put the egg whites in a large clean bowl and beat with hand whisk until they form stiff peaks. fold in the egg yolk mixture. Pour into the prepared tin and bake in the middle of the oven for 15-18 minutes, until set and springy to the touch. Leave to cool in the tin.
  • For the filling, whisk together the yoghurt, quark, orange zest, vanilla extract and sweetener until smooth.
  • To assemble, place a sheet of baking paper on a work surface and turn the sponge out onto it. Carefully peel off the paper. Spread the yoghurt mixture over the sponge and scatter over the orange segments.
  • Roll up the sponge lengthways and transfer – carefully! – onto a serving plate. Dust with cocoa powder.

IMG_20150330_213010~2Et voila – Enjoy! x

*FYI – This is not a promoted post – I really am just a Slimming World fan! *

3 thoughts on “Recipe: Slimming World Chocolate Orange Roulade

  1. Arielle says:

    Your posts are beautiful, I love your blog! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I can’t wait to read more ❤

Leave a Reply

