Graduating in Burlesque

Last night saw the debut performance of my burlesque alter ego – Typsy Tease – at the graduation class of the Secrets of the Boudoir Burlesque workshop that I have been attending for the past ten weeks, and what a fantastic evening it was!

I was so nervous before my debut performance of Nouvelle Vague’s version of the Billy Idol hit ‘Dancing with Myself’, so much so that in the days preceeding the performance I was half convinced I was going to bottle it and give up the opportunity to perform my routine to my classmates.

But I’m so glad I didn’t. When I arrived, there was an intimate crowd of classmates and our burlesque tutors Deadly Nightshade and Cherry Du Bois waiting above The Shakespeare in Shalesmoor, Sheffield, where the classes take place. It was really calming and reassuring to feel the mutual support of everyone there, and we all cheered each other on throughout our debut performances.

I was second to perform, following on from a saucy routine from the fantastic Golden Delicious. After a slight cock-up at the beginning of my routine, in which the mouthful of wine (which was actually lemonade) that I had to down ended up all down my outfit (sexy…), I recovered well and went on to deliver my most confident rendition of the routine to date, and had such fun doing it!

A few weeks previously, I couldn’t have imagined being able to ‘peel’ off a corset, create a pair of nipple tassels or even create my own routine from scratch, let alone perform it to other people, but I managed all of it throughout this course and loved every minute of it.

My fellow classmates and performers, Golden Delicious and Daphne Maybe, were fantastic in their performances last night, and a big congratulations goes to Golden Delicious, who won the opportunity to perform her routine at the next Secrets of the Boudoir Burlesque show at West Street Live in September!

Taking part in the Secrets of the Boudoir Burlesque course has been fantastic and I would sincerely recommend it to any woman looking to learn something different and have a great time whilst doing so. I’ve met some lovely people, learned more about the world of burlesque – from peeling techniques and pin up posing to vintage hair and make-up – and I’ve even been able to unleash my alter ego, Typsy Tease!

Hopefully, this won’t be the last the world has seen of Typsy Tease either, so watch this space. πŸ˜‰

The next Secrets of the Boudoir Burlesque ten-week course begins on Tuesday, July 17 at 7.30pm above The Shakespeare pub in Shalesmoor, Sheffield. For more info, click here.

You might also like to read more about my burlesque adventure here.

5 thoughts on “Graduating in Burlesque

  1. Rachel White says:

    Congrats Jen! Very brave of you, I wish I had the bottle to give it a go. And ace alter ego name I may have to pick one myself! Well done, whoop x

Leave a Reply

