Tried and Tested: The Baileys Diet

I made the arguably ill-advised decision to join Slimming World for the first time a week before Christmas. I thought it would spur me on to be a little more careful about what I ate over the festive period and give me a head start on my New Year’s resolution to shift some timber.

In my first week, I was mostly very well behaved food-wise (apart from a massive piece of chocolate fudge cake and about 26 jalapeno poppers at a friend’s buffet) and lost 2.5 pounds. A great start, but then came Christmas itself and the diet went out of the window. I was conscious of the amount I was eating, which meant I didn’t scoff as much as I have done in the past at Christmas, but I didn’t deny myself of anything I wanted and the main thing I want at Christmas – since I don’t drink it at any other time of the year as a rule – is Baileys!!

So every evening for five days, the one thing I consumed unregulated was Baileys – as much as I wanted, no holds barred – since my boyfriend’s mum and I had three bottles between us at hand (although we didn’t manage to polish it all off!). When I went for my post-Christmas weigh in last week, I discovered I’d gained 4.5 pounds, weighing more than I did when I started the diet! Now I’m not saying it’s entirely the Baileys that’s to blame but I think that is definitely the main culprit, with a bit of cheese and chocolate following closely behind.

Since my last weigh in, I’ve managed to get back on track at little more and now the New Year is here, I have officially started the Slimming World diet with gusto – no more excuses or Baileys to set me back!

5 thoughts on “Tried and Tested: The Baileys Diet

  1. Suzie Scissons says:

    Tell me about it Jenn, ooh I’ve had a shocker with gaining weight over the festive period love… I’ve gained nearly 4 stone. Admittedly I did have a right good pig out session once or thrice mainly on pork scratchings and home brew stout. But eh, that Baileys is a belt stretcher you’ve got to keep a beady eye on it.. full of pure greasy unsaturated goats milk.. ooh each measure is like drinking 4 cans of condensed milk or 7 cans of evaporated! I only did the 4 bottles and 3 kilos of Brie.. Happy new year to you, fellow Baileys guzzler!
    TTFN x

  2. pickleshlee says:

    Ha ha I know that feeling! Every year my mother-in-law buys me a huge bottle of Baileys, and my ‘challenge’ is to drink it all before the 1st of Jan, so it’s not hanging round in the house when I’m trying to be good! I’m pleased to report I succeeded in my challenge again this year, and gained 3lb! I’m trying this new ‘2 Day Diet’ that I found in a magazine, for 2 days a week all you have is 2 pints of milk, 5 portions of veg and 1 portion of fruit, then the other 5 days of the week you eat fairly normally (1500 calories a day). I’ve just finished day 2 of the ‘milk days’ and I’m so excited to eat real food today!! As for whether it’ll work…. only time will tell!

    • jenieveve says:

      I’ve not heard of that diet but you’ll have to let me know how you get on with it. I still have a little bit of Baileys left but I’ve shoved it at the back of the cupboard and am trying not to think about it!

Leave a Reply

